Boy Scouts of America Survey

My son is a cub scout.  He just earned his Tiger Cub rank.  When we signed him up to join scouting we did not realize that scouting was an organization that discriminated against our gay and lesbian neighbors.  We thought about pulling him out, but  learned that scouting was in the midst of revising their policy, and wanted to be a part of the conversation.  Currently the National Organization is considering changing their policy to allow the local chartering organizations decide if they want to discriminate or not.
This policy is wrong minded in that it does not go far enough.  It continues to allow for discrimination.  Recently Boy Scouts of America contacted me as a parent and asked me this question,

“What is your greatest concern if the policy is changed to allow charter organizations to make their own decisions to admit openly gay Scouts and leaders? (Please be specific.)”
Here is my response.   Please share with your friends if you agree that Scouting’s policy is wrong.

My primary concern is that local chartering organizations would be prejudiced against gay and lesbian people.  The notion that a kid could begin scouting as a tiger (6 years-old)  – continue through varsity and then be denied eagle scout because he discovers at 17 that he is gay is so abhorrent to me that I can support this organization.  Our troop is sponsored through  our local diocese.  If an organization like the church, that is so anti-gay can be so associated with child rape — I can only think that scouting in its current form is not where I want my child.  The notion that men and women who are attracted  to the same sex are somehow more likely to be pedophiles is so absurd that I don’t know where to begin my comments.  My son’s den leader, by the way, is a women who I ‘m pretty sure is attracted to men.  She has never once been sexually inappropriate with my six-year-old son son .  Why should I think that a gay father would be a sexual predator?  One of my very best friends from childhood is gay.  He is attracted to men, not to children.    One of my dearest friends from college is gay.  She is attracted to women, not to children.  Should we fear that every straight man is attracted to young girls, that every straight woman is attracted to young boys?  The notion is absurd.  If scouting does not change its current position – and in fact go further to reject the ridiculous prejudice based on sexual orientation out right,  it will not have the support of my family.  It will I fear be a dying organization and boys will suffer.  Scouting offers young men so much.  It should not offer them these obscene views of their fellow citizens, their neighbors, their families.

Leave a Reply

